Dexcom g5

joanne75

Hi I am seriously considering buying one whilst they have their offer on can anyone who has one give me a bit of info on how they are doing with it before I jump feet in and get one, I'm currently using the omnipod thanks in advance

therower

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
@joanne75 . I've recently started using the Dexcom G4, not the G5 granted, but can honestly say it's proving to be an inspirational purchase.
I've been doing diabetes for 27 yrs and know a fair bit about it. 19 days hooked up to the G4 has given me so much information to make more informed decisions. Things I could never have known are now so obvious.
There are differences between the G5 and G4 I believe......
G4 needs a receiver. G5 can connect to a smart phone ( I think )
G4 transmitter lasts longer than G5 people have stated.
But as a system I would definitely recommend dexcom even after such a short time.
Customer service was great when ordering, delivery within 2 working days ( UK ).
If I can answer anymore questions feel free to ask. If I know the answers I'll be glad to help.

TheBigNewt

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
@therower : Specifically what information have you found the Dexcom provides you to make more informed decisions about your diabetes. Give be a few tidbits, I'm considering one myself after all these years.

therower

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi @TheBigNewt . Bearing in mind I've only been hooked up to the dexcom for 3 weeks, things are still new to me.
A few things I've found.........
Having a reading every 5 minutes displayed as a visual flow line is unbelievable informative. Observing what my bs does throughout the night as made me realise I don't actually suffer with dawn phenomenon. A few tweaks to bedtime eating and basal and I'm now staying on a straight line throughout the night and wake with bs levels in a much better place.