Reversed diabetes

jcbman

Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
dont go over the top. its in remission you have not cured it. you must still be careful.

Yes, I've seen that opinion.
To me, it's a bit like getting the girlfriend pregnant.
Once the kid is born, she's no longer pregnant.
Now, I agree there is going to be someone running around reminding you she was pregnant once, and I reckon things are different, but I don't think I'd say she is in remission from pregnancy.
And we've got a pretty good idea what caused it in the first place, and, yes, it certainly has the possibility of repeating if we're not careful, but for now, life is good, so I reckon I'm ok with reversed.

Robbity

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Well I can get down to non-diabetic levels, but if I don't watch what I eat, or if I'm ill or severely stressd, then those figues can and do bounce back up again into pre-diabetes. And I've had four years experience of such goings on with my levels now... so as far as I'm concerned the advice to take care is both sensible and sound. Whatever triggered the diabetes in the first place may well still be there, as it is with pregnancy - just because someone's given birth once doesn't mean it can't happen again - given the right (or wrong!) conditions ... :eek:

Robbity

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
It must also very disheartening if a newly diagnosed condition warrants medication that raises levels and takes you out of the "reversed" state (for want of a better description) and potentially back into diabetic territory when there is nothing you can do about it because you are already doing everything necessary to maintain a "reversed" state.

Reactions: Happyhomelands

jcbman

Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Maybe we all like to think we're reversed on here.

My definition is that I don't have diabetes.
I don't take drugs.