Storing Open Insulins In Fridge

nikobasi

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hello, I have been using novorapid and lantus pens for more than 10 years. All these years I have been keeping the used novorapid and lantus insulins in the fridge.
Just few days ago i learned that opened lantus should be kept in room temperatures and not in the fridge but with novorapid flex pens i can store the used insulins either in fridge or in room temperatures and i am really panicked right now.
Is it that a big deal? I am afraid of hypos. Note that i live in a very hot climate in sumer 30 degrees and i dont know if i should keep lantus in room temperature.

K

Knikki

Just done a quick Google "how to store open lantus" and it came back as "store in refrigerator or at room temperature below 30 degrees C do not freeze"

nikobasi

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Just done a quick Google "how to store open lantus" and it came back as "store in refrigerator or at room temperature below 30 degrees C do not freeze"
Why you are ironic? I asked i think an important question.

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
It's fine to store between a little above freezing and a little under 30 degrees C for about month after opening. Don't worry. And I don't think Knikki was being ironic, he probably just used Google to find the instructions for Lantus to help you out and came up with the right answer.

Reactions: Knikki and nikobasi
K

Knikki

Why you are ironic? I asked i think an important question.

Ironic?????? you asked a question I gave and answer, if you don't like the answer then use Google yourself, personally I would store in the fridge which is BELOW 30 degrees C as recommended.

Summer temps are at 30? I also guess more than that.

Last edited by a moderator:

nikobasi

Type of diabetes
Type 1