Any Waterskiers Out There Please?

Ceejie_

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello all - this is my first post. I've been a member for just over a year and have found these forums and this website fantastic with all the information and advice given. Last July after fainting on two separate occasions after waterskiing I was diagnozed with prediabetes (HbA1c of 42). I'd had tests and the diabetes one was one of those tests. I've been waterskiing for 7 years and really enjoy it however the two fainting episodes came out of the blue. My blood pressure is fine and no other tests came up with any clues as to why this has happened. After being diagnozed I got myself a blood glucose monitor and armed with that and taking up a LCHF way of eating I managed to get my HbA1c down to 39 last November and also lost weight. I haven't been waterskiing for well over a year as I am very anxious I will faint again but I know I must get back on that ski. I just wondered if any waterskiing members would be able to advise me on what I should eat and drink before and after any future waterskiing sessions please. Just to add that on the two occasions I have fainted it has happened about 10-15 minutes after getting out of the water. I seem to remember reading that blood glucose levels may plummet after strenuous exercise and so I wonder if that is what has happened to me. Many thanks all.

Canvaspic

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi, I know nothing about waterskiing, but it sure looks fun. But perhaps you could try out your theory on an excercise bike or rowing mc. To catch a low, something like the libre would help, but you should still manage with BG monitor. Best of luck getting to the bottom of it.

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I seem to remember reading that blood glucose levels may plummet after strenuous exercise and so I wonder if that is what has happened to me