I Don't Understand The Nhs

SamJB

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I've got some experience in this; I wokr in Big Pharma and have conduced diabetes research for national charitied.

First Big Pharma will never fund a large-scale low carb study and why should they. They will literally lose money by people not using their drugs. Too much Big Pharma bashing goes on on this forum, most of us here would be dead without them; they need to make profits, or they wouldn't bother making drugs.

I worked on the National Diabetes Audit for DiabetesUK and that gave me access to some of the lead dietitians in DiabetesUK and let me tell you, they are stuck in the past; repeating the same dogma they were taught at uni (low fat high carb), without demonstrating any level of intelligence to think diabetics should eat fewer things that raise sugar levels. Simple thought, but they've got their fingers in their ears. If DiabetesUK thew their weight behind it, we wouldn't be having this conversation and i blame them for this, really.

I worked as chair of a research group at XPERT diabetes, which is run by Trudi Deakin, a very innovative and passionate dietitian and strong advocate of low carb diets. We conducted a pilot study that showed low carb diets are effective, but got turned down for funding for a large study. Many of you would have been on XPERT courses and they now offer low carb diet courses.

The tide is turning, although the pace of change is astonishingly glacial. I do thinks we'll get there. Carbs are being increasingly vilified and as may diabetics come to forums like this, or attend courses run by this website or XPERT, or read Bernstein's methods, the health advice will change.

Honeyend

If you want to support the LC diet to your HCP, this was updated in 2017,
https://www.sign.ac.uk/assets/sign116.pdf
'Short term (six months) low carbohydrate diets containing as little as 50 g carbohydrate per day (13% of daily energy)