Advice on injecting in public

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Too many medical appointments
The winter months, it’s cold when you’re bald!
But why not do it in the bathroom - or some other inconspicuous location, ie in a situation where you do not attract attention?
I’m on chemotherapy for life now, some of my injections are to support my white blood cells and my immune system. Public bathrooms rarely have a clean dry, flat surface to mix liquid and powder but I keep looking and return to the places with the best facilities. I haven’t yet found an inconspicuous location to retreat to for my thigh injections and the number of gender neutral bathrooms in Birmingham is crazy. Hippodrome Theatre was the last bathroom I showed the whole queue of men, women and children my pants!

Reactions: porl69 and Dodo

Chris Bowsher

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Assuming you aren't a total Newb and and have a NovoPen or whatever you should be able to swiftly and effortlessly shoot up into your stomach anywhere without causing a scene. - Ignore your family.
The needles on the pens these days are so tiny you'd have to get right up close to even see it.

I have kids and am very open about testing and injecting in front of them
One day they might be diabetic too i want them to think it's totally normal.

Reactions: Fairygodmother

KK123

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I’m on chemotherapy for life now, some of my injections are to support my white blood cells and my immune system. Public bathrooms rarely have a clean dry, flat surface to mix liquid and powder but I keep looking and return to the places with the best facilities. I haven’t yet found an inconspicuous location to retreat to for my thigh injections and the number of gender neutral bathrooms in Birmingham is crazy. Hippodrome Theatre was the last bathroom I showed the whole queue of men, women and children my pants!