Dexcom G6, Libre, and Spike

RSJ1301

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I have been using the Freestyle Libre system now for about 3 years... have been really impressed by it. My passions are running cycling and being able to keep a handle on my (type 1!) diabetes on the go without having to stop and do blood tests has been amazing. That said, particularly on longer runs the Libre can lag quite significantly and I’ve had to occasionally rescue myself from hypo sysmptoms when the reader is still saying 6 or 7 mmol/l.

A month or so ago I saw an ad for the Dexcom G6 and immediately ordered the one month test kit. So far so good, the sensor has been a bit out at times but mostly seems to be more accurate (compared to my BG meter) than the Libre. I particularly like the fact that I can get the readings on a Garmin watch via the Spike app (indeed it gave me an excuse to buy aforementioned Garmin). I much prefer Spike to the Dexcom app as it is much more flexible and not as intrusive and irritating. Also even in summer the Libre seems to have got too cold to give readings if I’ve been out on my bike... I suspect the G6, mounted on the abdomen, will be at less risk of this.

I’m seriously thinking about switching, having been caught out by hypos in everyday life especially at night it seems perfect. A bit more research has turned up the Blucon and Miaomiao transmitters for the Libre however, which will also work with Spike. I’m also aware that Abbott will be bringing out a Libre 2 in the next year with just this feature but I suspect it will probably be in the same price bracket as the G6 with similar accuracy.

I wonder if anyone had experience of the G6 versus the “augmented” Libre? Which do you prefer?

Reactions: Chickenboy

evilclive

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
FWIW Abbot say the libre 2 will be the same price as the current one.