Ultra running with t1d

Julian Brand

Hi, I’ve just decided to go for the challenge of a 53 mile ultra race but I am really nervous about how to manage my diabetes during training and the race. I can just about wing it for a marathon but I know I can’t for these longer events. First thing, I need to start using a CGM so any advice on that? Then I would really appreciate tips from anyone that has experience ie what do you eat before, during and after, do you in inject on the run? I really don’t know much so all advice very greatly received. Julian ps if you want to run Race to the Tower with me you would be very welcome indeed

Reactions: Bon83

Julian Brand

Ps I’m also completely new to this app and forum so tips on that too would be great and if I breach any etiquette, I didn’t meant to, I’m just a new kid on the block

DCUKMod

Master
Staff Member
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Ps I’m also completely new to this app and forum so tips on that too would be great and if I breach any etiquette, I didn’t meant to, I’m just a new kid on the block

Julian, I'm not suggesting you would necessarily want to mimic Ian Lake's T1 management style, but this sure as heck makes a decent read: http://type1keto.com/

SarahFD

A group of people with type 1 diabetes did lakes in a day last year, if you Google 'lakes in a day type 1 diabetes' you should find a page with a link to the write up of their experiences.

Reactions: Dearbhla
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bullies, Liars, Trolls and dishonest cruel people