How to get my protein

worldtraveller

I'm 115 lbs, prediabetic, and should be eating around 60 grams of protein. I'm still new to this low carb diet. I'm a vegetarian who eats cheese and yogurt but no eggs. I'm having trouble finding foods that will have that much protein. . I am eating way too much soy now and need to switch it up. Any suggestions?

DCUKMod

Master
Staff Member
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I'm 115 lbs, prediabetic, and should be eating around 60 grams of protein. I'm still new to this low carb diet. I'm a vegetarian who eats cheese and yogurt but no eggs. I'm having trouble finding foods that will have that much protein. . I am eating way too much soy now and need to switch it up. Any suggestions?

Hello worldtravellor. I'm not a vegetarian myself, so I have limited knowledge, but I wondered if any of these could help at all?

https://www.mydomaine.com/low-carb-vegetarian-diet

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/protein-for-vegans-vegetarians#section2

http://www.eatingwell.com/article/289961/top-vegetarian-protein-sources/

I'm sure others will drop by later to add some suggestions.

Diakat

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
The smell of cigars
Hi @worldtraveller
How do you feel about "fake meat"?
If you are looking for soy substitutes then Quorn (contains egg in the veggie version not in the vegan version) is carb manageable and a decent source of protein. Naturli also contains decent protein levels. Linda McC stuff tends to have more carbs, but has wheat protein generally.
Otherwise veggie proteins such as mushroom, lentils and beans - you'd need to test to see how the pulses affect sugars.

Reactions: DCUKMod

worldtraveller