I am over reacting?

simonr101

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
People who think they know what it's like being diabetic but really have not got a clue.
Sorry back story:Had to take a day off work this last week. Has been up all night visiting the bathroom every 20 minutes or so, then had a double leg cramp, first one then an hour or so later the other one. I'm a school teacher and I knew that if I went into work the way I was feeling it would not have been good.
Went in the next day and had to have a full "back to work" interview, this is basically because I am also battling depression and anxiety and had a lot of time off over the last year.
During the interview the comment was thrown out " many people are living successfully with diabetes". At the time I left it as I do have a bit of a tendency to over react. But now I'm thinking, ***?
There are mornings when I can just about get up, feel like I am coming out of an anesthetic. I use the Freestyle Libre and Miaomiao with a smart watch (all self funding) so I can make sure I don't hypo in front of a class. In fact in the last year I have had two bad turns where I asked for help. Both of which ended up with me sitting in the staff room unresponsive for between 30 and 50 minutes, I then went home. Both of these were written down as caused by depression, even when I corrected them nothing was changed. The other day during a meeting my alarms were going off and I ended the meeting with a reading of 2.8.
Just how do you make people understand? How do you make people realise what you go through? Especially when it is clear that the person in control has made it quiet clear that we will never be on a "friendly" level of professional relationship.