How do you cope with carbs after remission?

Cocosilk

Type of diabetes
Gestational
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm starting this in a new thread so as not to derail the thread where I was reading this:

I can just about cope with a quantity of carbs, but I would never allow myself to reach the size I got to on the 'healthy' 'cholesterol lowering' high carb diet so it is a single indulgence, and then back to low carb again.

This is interesting to me. When you say you can cope with a quantity of carbs now, what kind of readings do you get after eating carbs (and which ones as an example)?

I'm not diagnosed with any kind of diabetes after my HbA1c came back at 34 (5.3%) but I had been eating low carb mostly for 8 or 9 months prior to that reading after having had gestational diabetes so I'm not confident I am dealing with carbs very well. A GTT I had at 2 months postpartum also had a 12.1 mmol spike at the 1h mark. Fast was 4.4 and 2h was 6.5 mmol though so the doctor didn't worry that much.

I go back and forth between very low carb and trying to reintroduce carbs to see what they are doing to me. Today, for example, I made a cake with Ricotta/ 2 cups almond meal /1/2 cup dry polenta/ 1/4 cup sugar / lemon zest & juice/ butter/ rosemary. I intended on only having one slice but carbs are stupidly addictive for me (and I just love this cake...) and I ended up having 2 slices (probably nearly a quarter of the cake about 20 mins apart). Was done eating within the first 30 mins.

My reading before eating was 4.9 mmol.
1 hour was 8.6 mmol.
90 mins was 8.3 mmol
1h55 mins was 8.1 mmol
2h07 mins was 6.8 mmol.

another example was an indulgence I had with the kids when I made baked sweet potato and homemade mayonnaise. I ate as much as I would have eaten before I realised I had gestational diabetes. Probably a whole sweet potato (cut into wedges).

Before 4.8
30 mins 7.9
45 mins 8.1
60 mins 9.4
90 mins 9.3
2 hours 8.5
3 hours 7.2