Carb confused

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
What about cancer risk bulkbiker, aren’t there links to excessive red/processed meat & bowel cancer for example?

Complete and utter drivel I'm afraid.. we have all been lied to on that front.

Full story behind it here.. well worth a watch

Last edited:
Reactions: OrsonKartt

DanW13

Complete and utter drivel I'm afraid.. we have all been lied to on that front.

So you think these experts are wrong? Personally I’ve no idea as I’m not an expert, but if the below is right the evidence against processed meat looks pretty compelling??

IARC findings
In 2015, 22 experts from 10 countries met to evaluate existing research about the link between red meat and cancer.

They reviewed more than 800 studies from the past 20 years. Some studies looked at only processed or unprocessed red meat. Others looked at both.

KEY TAKEAWAYS
The IARC’s findings indicate that:

• Eating red meat regularly probably increases your risk for colorectal cancer.
  • Eating processed meatregularly does increase your risk for colorectal cancer.
They also found some evidence to suggest a link between red meat consumption and prostate cancerand pancreatic cancer, but more research is needed.

How sure are we that processed meat causes cancer?

Over the last decade, strong evidence has proven that processed meat causes cancer. So we are equally as sure of the link as we are for other proven causes of cancer, like tobacco and UV rays from the sun. But this doesn’t mean they all cause the same number of cases of cancer.

Reactions: CherryCakes

MrsA2

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I cook scrambled eggs in less time than it takes to toast bread. You can also cook egg muffins ahead and eat them cold.
Cheeses and cold meats make a continental breakfast
Yoghurt and seeds mixed the night before swell to make a porridge consistency ready to eat bowl

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2