Toujeo Trouble

Galvatron81

Hi,

I’m having major issues with Toujeo. I started it back in May (previously Lantus) and had a reasonable start with helping my blood sugars.

In the last two weeks I’ve had to go to A&E for constant low glucose levels. This has happened 2 hours after Toujeo injection lasting the duration of the night. This has now repeated it self on 4 occasions.

I use Humalog for meals and carb count thoroughly. It’s as though I’ve injected more quick acting insulin (I know I haven’t).

DN has told me to lower the dose. It now seems like I have no background insulin during the day and having horrific highs for no reason.

I am tempted to go back to Lantus - when I changed over many months ago the dosage was the same 22 units. If I decide to go back to Lantus can I go back to same dose (Toujeo is 36 hours - which I find confusing)

Thanks In advance !

alanj

Type of diabetes
Type 2
About every 6 week I miss a dose because I am having to many lows. What I have found if I take the 20 units say about 7pm, time you allowed up to 5 hr to work it be about 12pm. I wake up low, I just few more carbs
Have you been given min-max units to take? I take between 16-20

Have you tried a new pen

Reactions: Galvatron81

Galvatron81

About every 6 week I miss a dose because I am having to many lows. What I have found if I take the 20 units say about 7pm, time you allowed up to 5 hr to work it be about 12pm. I wake up low, I just few more carbs
Have you been given min-max units to take? I take between 16-20

Have you tried a new pen

Hi Alanj,

Oh okay - I’ve never tried that (missing a dose). I have tried 2 new pens to rule that out and making sure I change needles and the injection site is as good as can be, as well as rotating sites.