Working Nights

Nebula Skies

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I apologise if similar threads have been posted, I did try scrolling through some.

Basically I'm a Type 1 Diabetic, I use an Omnipod Insulin Pump, and a Freestyle Libre to test my blood sugars.

I currently work in a Supermarket, and I'll admit the current department I'm on is so boring. When I first started it was OK, but I want to be on a department that is more active. I literally just sit on the checkouts watching the clock, I always get moaned at "Oh it's easy money" but I like to be on my feet/moving around.

I know that Nights are hiring, however, I'm terrified of messing up my levels, they're not perfect at the moment, but with small changes they are thankfully improving. I've never worked nights before so I just wanted to know if anyone here works them, how does it affect your levels? Can you adapt to it easily?

I know I need to speak to my Nurse, however, I wanted to hear some personal stories from people who have Type 1 (Or Type 2!), to understand some challenges I may have to face.

Thank you!!

kvetiny

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I find working nights easier to cope with when dealing with my diabetes. I'm eating less overall which helps plus the nature of my job I'm rushing around alot less on nights.

Reactions: Nebula Skies

Nebula Skies

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I find working nights easier to cope with when dealing with my diabetes. I'm eating less overall which helps plus the nature of my job I'm rushing around alot less on nights.

Oh that's interesting, I guess yeah with less pressure it's a lot easier to manage. I'll keep that in mind. Thank you for your reply :)

kvetiny

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I work mainly late shifts 1pm-9pm. I never work early shifts I can not cope with them.

searley

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Diabetes, not having Jaffa Cake