Type 1 and trigger finger / arthritis

Herbie1972

Hi all,

Am wondering whether anyone else with Type 1 has been plagued with trigger finger / thumb and other joint or tendon problems.

I’ve had what I thought was trigger finger in all my fingers and thumbs, and I had a year’s worth of steroid injections in the digits prior to lockdown, which helped temporarily. The MSK department at my local hospital said it was diabetes related, but discharged me saying I’d reached the maximum number of injections allowed.

Over a year on and it’s still awful, my fingers locking so much that I can’t grip things properly, so writing and holding a fork is difficult and I drop things a lot. I’m a journalist and have had to relearn how to type, too. Then there’s the constant burning pain.

The latest consultant I recently saw ruled our trigger thumb, which confused me, and suggested it might be rheumatoid arthritis, another auto-immune disease which crippled my mum, but tests for that came back negative.

It’s really doing my head in now and no one seems to know what’s wrong. At the moment the index finger on my left hand is completely locked shut and is swollen (see pic), but the other fingers are ok.

Has anyone else had anything similar? Thanks for any advice

Attachments

• 764592EF-198C-430F-8FE2-3F067A071C99.jpeg
    764592EF-198C-430F-8FE2-3F067A071C99.jpeg
    289.5 KB · Views: 162

NicoleC1971

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I had a trigger finger a while back which got much better with a steroid in the right place although it can't bend completely.
I now have a left hand shoulder that is frozen and still lacks mobility after 2-3 years but is no longer painful. Also diabetes related but nobody has explained why!
My father in law had something similar to your hand with his hand which was resolved with surgery.
Dupeytren's Contraction for what it is worth.
Hope yours improves. You don't realise how useful fingers are until they go wrong...

Herbie1972