Fed up

conniecar

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I’d love to say ‘asking for a friend’ though
I can’t and to be honest I wouldn’t wish it on them. Been type 1 for 46 years plus epileptic . Was diagnosed with coeliac disease 2.5 years ago which has been a stress. I’ve mild neuropathy in my feet and have Dupytrens Contracture in my hands and feet. Yesterday I was told I also have Peripheral Arterial Disease. The consultant said it was down to smoking and blood pressure. I’ve never smoked or had high blood pressure…. Then he said ‘unless you’re diabetic?’ He then went on with a terrible prediction of my future that just involves statins and a blood thinner, but nothing to alleviate the pain I feel in my feet after walking or standing for 5 minutes only. I work in a school and am on my feet all day and am trying to cover it all up. I’ve just ordered Alpha Lipoic Acid in a hope it’ll help. I’ve had Gabapentin before when they thought I had neuropathy, but it was chronically low vitamin D due to undiagnosed coeliac disease and epilepsy medication. I’m lucky in so many ways with a lovely family and friends, but feel like a burden. I’ve just rung the diabetes nurse as I’ve not seen him or the consultant since I was diagnosed with coeliac disease 2.5 years ago. I’m down to see the nurse on 12 October now….