"What have you eaten" Parallel Chat

maglil55

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Everyone. The bike lanes are next to the parking spots.

Both the picture and the video are taken in my old neighbourhood, both obviously at quiet hours with very few cars, those are rather busy streets during the day.
As you can see, in wider roads there are usually small biking lanes, but if the road is smaller, everyone just shares the same part of the road.

Very, very important to check for bikes when getting out of your car!

151010-img-6063-ceintuurbaan.jpg

As Ann says, yours look sensible and they use the cycle lanes. Here the rule change says they don't have to use the cycle lanes. They can go along in the middle of the road. Edinburgh is a right mess with what was supposed to be temporary cycle lanes. To be fair I have some sympathy as the roads are a right mess too with potholes. I've been dodging a large one locally for 2 years now!

Riva_Roxaban

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Our cycle lanes are not wide enough to drive a vehicle in here. I use my door mirrors to see what is behind me, as I have a big aluminium box in the back of my Colorado truck as a dealer fixture.

Another thing is never get out of the vehicle unless the police ask / tell you to, they like to see both hands as well. Our police carry fire arms, tasers, capsicum spray so no arguing.

With a new vehicle it should be some of the first things you ask before going out of the car yard, where is the light switch, window winder if electric, and how to put it it in reverse gear (there's differences between car makers) if it's a manual, and check to see see what side the fuel filler cap is on.

In other news Ashley Bartley won the ladies tennis final Yay!, Nic and his partner won the doubles Yay!, sweating on Raffa winning today.

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
I use my door mirrors to see what is behind me