Type 1 for 50 years

Cathysbd

Hi, I’m Cathy. I was diagnosed in 1973 round Easter time. I’m 59. I’m on T-Slim hybrid closed loop pump with DexcomG6 which I love. I do miss Omnipod for swimming though. I work as an Ophthalmic Technician. I have mild background retinopathy and some kidney function impairment, not much. I’m trying to lose weight (about 46 lbs), I’m on Ozempic once a week to help. Also on Metformin, Atorvastatin and Ramipril for donkeys years! I started on glass syringes with a blue stand case full of surgical spirit. I initially had to count black lines (but not red ones ). I used clinitest tablets to test wee and ketone tablets too. Things have changed soooooo much. my consultant at The Royal in Liverpool has applied for the Nabarro 50 yr medal for me, whooo hooo. I have a sweet tooth and sometimes binge on chocolate etc but am trying to limit this. I find being on the pump great, i never eat breakfast and blood sugars are fine. Pre-pump my hba1c was 90, then 70 then stuck round 60 - my last one a few months ago was 45. I also have Rheumatoid arthritis on methotrexate and asthma (on Fostair) - other than this am doing pretty good.
I’m proud of my diabetes self! xxxxxx

Grant_Vicat

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Dislikes
Intolerance, selfishness, rice pudding