medical exemption certificate fine

ladyAAA

when I first picked up my diabetes medication, the pharmacist told me that I didn't need to pay prescription charges (although i was quite willing to) and just needed to tick the 'medical exemption certificate' box on the prescription. I have been doing this for 7 years. I never realised that I actually needed to apply for the certificate and the pharmacist has never asked to see it. Today i received a fine of £126 through the post for falsely claiming free prescriptions.
Has this happened to anyone else? I have 10 days to pay before it increases so I feel I have no option to pay. I know ignorance of the law is no defence but I do feel the authorities should do more to make people aware of this law i.e. tell pharmacists to always ask to see the certificate or ask GPs to remind their patients they need one.
This is my first time on this forum. I feel quite upset at receiving this fine and wanted to make other people aware. :(

sallylondon

So sorry to hear of the fine LadyAAA. I think that you make a very good point about the lack of awareness about these exemption certificates. I feel the form should be given to us as soon as the first prescription is issued.

When I was first diagnosed no-one told me I could get an exemption certificate so I bought the yearly card which cost around £100 at the time. After 1 month my pharmacist told me about the exemption certificate so my £100 was money down the drain. :thumbdown:

I wonder what your pharmacist thinks about this? Could he support you in some way?

Grazer

Can you pay to avoid the increase, but appeal at the same time? Try ringing them? You MIGHT be able to get through to someone sensible after about 30 "you now have 4 options"

abs

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I would pay the fine and then see if you can claim it back. If you ask your doctor they will have the form you need to get the exception.