HAIR LOSS

barbaraww

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I am relatively new to being diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes and have been taking Metformin 750g. Has anyone else experienced hair loss as my hair is definitely getting thinner. Any help would be appreciated please. Thank you

N

NicolaB70

Yes, I am also experiencing hair loss since I was diagnosed 11 months ago. I am also on metformin but take 2000mg. My hair is long and was very thick but it's thinned out considerably with visable bald patches. I've been to my GP about it and had different tests but they don't know why it's happening.

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

Reactions: 2 people

Indy51

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Are you also taking BP medication? Some of them can cause hair loss.

Another common cause of hair loss can be hypothyroid, but there are quite a few things that can be involved, so best to talk to your doctor about it.

zand

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Yes a bit and I've only been taking it 3 weeks. However I have had so many times in my life when I have experienced hair loss - after pregnancies, with stress, illness etc. that as yet I am not that bothered about it. I have heard that it grows back when you stop Metformin anyway so I am sticking with it for now. Not a nice side effect for a woman though is it? I may worry about mine too if I lose too much.

CarbsRok

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
pasta ice cream and chocolate
Long term high blood sugars can cause hair loss as well.

picklebean

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin