Are you pleased with your Pump?

cheche

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi there. I am a diabetic on insulin at the moment. I have had diabetes for 25 years. I have been to the hospital and say I fill the criteria for the insulin pump. I was just wondering what people thought of the pump and is it worth me going on it and if so what pump would you suggest. Thank you xx

C

catherinecherub

Hi @cheche and welcome to the forum.

The majority of pump users on the forum are pleased with their pumps.

I will bump up your post for some replies from them.

shedges

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi @cheche. I've been pumping for 4 years and there's no way I'd go back. Have used the Medtronic Veo for that time, but am moving to the Roche Insight on Monday.

Benefits of pumping: variable basal rates, it calculates how much insulin you need. Both these mean fewer hypos. You can put a temporary basal rate on - low for exercise, high for sick days.

Few cons: unhooking for sex, taking it off for going in the water, sometimes have the 'where do I keep it?' quandary if you're not wearing much.

Have found people curious and interested. Even many medical staff haven't seen one.

Do you have a choice of pumps? Where do you live?

Sam

CarbsRok

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
pasta ice cream and chocolate
Hi there. I am a diabetic on insulin at the moment. I have had diabetes for 25 years. I have been to the hospital and say I fill the criteria for the insulin pump. I was just wondering what people thought of the pump and is it worth me going on it and if so what pump would you suggest. Thank you xx
Hi if you go on a pump then what ever pump you have you will like, we all have different makes of pumps, they all have their pros and cons. Basically they all do the same thing IE pump insulin.

Is it worth you having a pump? Only you can answer that question :)

cheche

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin