urbanracer

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being able to eat as many chocolate digestives as I used to.
I'm feeling too lazy to search on the internet so thought I'd just ask some of you directly:-

As I'm fairly new to this lark I was wondering, roughly when did people first start daily home monitoring of BG levels???

My question is prompted by a post in the testimonials forum where someone is saying that his HbA1c has been on target for many years and I was wondering how you knew what was going on between hospital visits?

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: 4 people
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bullies, Liars, Trolls and dishonest cruel people
I have been testing for 26 years and the meters were like bricks in the beginning, huge and also the wee on a stick as well :)
It would fascinating and very interesting to hear from members 30, 40, 50 years + :) wow, what a journey.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: 6 people

urbanracer

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
I have been testing for 26 years and the meters were like bricks in he beginning, huge and also the wee on a stick as well :)
It would fascinating and very interesting to hear from members 30, 40, 50 years + :) wow, what a journey.

Thanks RRB that's interesting - so even 26yrs ago you were performing home testing (of sorts). How accurate were the devices, any idea?

BTW - what's wrong with wee sticks, there's a doctor writing on the IDDT website recommending it.

Reactions: 2 people
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Thanks RRB that's interesting - so even 26yrs ago you were performing home testing (of sorts). How accurate were the devices, any idea?

BTW - what's wrong with wee sticks, there's a doctor writing on the IDDT website recommending it.