Ratios

Charisma_1630

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Just wondering how often do people have to change their ratios?

I've been eating the same breakfast and lunch for about 2 months now with perfect sugars. Suddenly the last 4 days I've gone low after lunch everyday. Also had afew just before lunch in the last couple of weeks. Haven't changed routine at all. What can make you suddenly less resistant to insulin?

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Probably worth checking that your basal insulin is set at the right dose (do some basal checks), if its fine then look at your I:C ratio.

Reactions: 4 people

Spiker

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
It's normal to have to check your basal rate and ratios every few months, or certainly if you start seeing odd results.

Reactions: 2 people

Diamattic

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I seem to be updating my basal rate with the seasons.

My bolus ratio has changes a couple times as well.

I would think the main thing that would effect your ratios (besides coming off your honeymoon) would be changes in you weight. Adding or dropping even a couple pounds can mean more or less insulin is needed. Also I would think preceding this would changes in metabolism as well.

Also stress and emotion can effect some peoples levels.

Spiker

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Changes in weight will change your basal demand, and your correction ratio most of all. In principle they should not change your carb ratio.
Increasing or decreasing your level of exercise will increase or decrease your insulin sensitivity. This will change all your rates and ratios.
And as Diammatic said, the seasons (the average temperature) will affect your basal level. More in cold weather, less in hot weather.

Diamattic

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin