Is going over 9 after eating potatoes OK?

cz_dave

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I am still quite new to diabetes, so I would like to know whether the following BG levels are OK. I suppose it is expected that potatoes will cause a rapid spike. I have eaten 2 boiled potatoes (200g) and chicken (not too fat) for dinner today. I have injected 2U of Novorapid right before eating (I am still in my honeymoon phase, so this corresponds to my insulin/carb ratio, which is 1:25).

Because I had only rarely eaten boiled potatoes in my diabetic life, I wondered what the effect would be and did frequent tests with my meter after eating my dinner:

19:30 - 5.7
19:40 - injected 2U Novorapid and started my dinner.
19:51 - 5.9
20:11 - 8.5
20:20 - 9.4
20:25 - did a few pushups as I thought my BG was a bit too high
20:30 - 8.3
20:37 - 7.1
20:54 - 7.3
21:15 - 6.5
21:53 - 5.2

The spike to 9.4 took me a bit by surprise. Or, should I consider it "normal" given the fact that it dropped back again?

P.S. I suppose I could have injected a few minutes earlier but then I had experienced a few hypos injecting too early in the past, so I am a bit weary of this.

Any comments?

Clivethedrive

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Jogging
I am still quite new to diabetes, so I would like to know whether the following BG levels are OK. I suppose it is expected that potatoes will cause a rapid spike. I have eaten 2 boiled potatoes (200g) and chicken (not too fat) for dinner today. I have injected 2U of Novorapid right before eating (I am still in my honeymoon phase, so this corresponds to my insulin/carb ratio, which is 1:25).

Because I had only rarely eaten boiled potatoes in my diabetic life, I wondered what the effect would be and did frequent tests with my meter after eating my dinner:

The spike to 9.4 took me a bit by surprise. Or, should I consider it "normal" given the fact that it dropped back again?