Fermented Vegetables

Wurst

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Narcissistic forum members
I've been eating sauerkraut for lunch for several months now and normally have mild hypo's mid afternoon after consumption. I've always thought it was due to morning exercise i.e. running or cycling but last weekend I didn't exercise or bolus for the sauerkraut and still saw a large reduction in blood sugar (6.1 mmol before 4.1 mmol 2 hours afterwards.)

I've read about it in more detail and it transpires that fermented vegetables can improve pancreas function. I'm now going to expand my experiment to more fermented vegetables and different times of the day.

This could potentially lead to a reduction in insulin requirements if I added fermented vegetables to each meal.

Any one know of other fermented vegetables with similar properties to SauerKraut ?

Reactions: 2 people

AndBreathe

Master
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
:):)
I've been eating sauerkraut for lunch for several months now and normally have mild hypo's mid afternoon after consumption. I've always thought it was due to morning exercise i.e. running or cycling but last weekend I didn't exercise or bolus for the sauerkraut and still saw a large reduction in blood sugar (6.1 mmol before 4.1 mmol 2 hours afterwards.)

I've read about it in more detail and it transpires that fermented vegetables can improve pancreas function. I'm now going to expand my experiment to more fermented vegetables and different times of the day.

This could potentially lead to a reduction in insulin requirements if I added fermented vegetables to each meal.

Any one know of other fermented vegetables with similar properties to SauerKraut ?

That's interesting.