15, taking a break off diabetes

Johnd666

Im 15 diabetic. 5 injections a day and regular bg testing and calculating. I have recently found out im getting an insulin pump and next week..im happy about it but since this i have rebelled against injecting and bg testing. For some reason after months of desperation for a pump i now dont want one plz help

JConnor

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I have no expereince or knowledge i can share about pumps. Its normal to want to rebel abit in teenage years.
Knowing you are finally getting a pump must be nerve wracking and scary, maybe this is why you are changing your mind?
As i have said i not much help. All I can say is give it a try.
Keep up your injections in the meantime please dont stop them, i have recently done this rebelling (Im 24) and really doesnt help things in fact it will make you feel worse.
Can you talk to your parents? Hopefully someone experienced will be along soon
Good Luck

Jess

CarbsRok

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
pasta ice cream and chocolate
Johnd666 said:
Im 15 diabetic. 5 injections a day and regular bg testing and calculating. I have recently found out im getting an insulin pump and next week..im happy about it but since this i have rebelled against injecting and bg testing. For some reason after months of desperation for a pump i now dont want one plz help

Hi John,
it's known as the fear of the unknown.
You will love and hate the pump to start with :lol: It takes a few weeks or more to programe your basals. Which is a lot of hard work but oh wow once you have done that your quality of life will be so much better. I call mine my pocket pancreas :)

Can you give your DSN a ring and ask to talk to her or him? Explain your worries and fears about the pump and take it from there perhaps.

tazzle

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Hi john :wave: