Alcohol Sugar?

AlaskaRon

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Not Having Pizza!
I'm new with diabetes and had a question about sugar free candy. I bought some chocolate that was sugar free and tasted great but I noticed that it effects my BS.

I thought that sugar free meant sugar free but that does not seem to be the case.

so my question is, is Alcohol sugar really sugar free? and if not why is there not a disclaimer or warning for people that are Diabetes?

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi,

Was it called "Maltitol" per chance?

DevonVee

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I believe it breaks down so is not carb free. A better sugar alcohol is erythritol. It does not spike has no calories and little or no laxative effect. Can be used to cook.

Reactions: Ultramum

scottw

Type of diabetes
Type 1
It depends on what its sweetened with. Things like; Splenda, Sweet-n-Low, and aspatame go through our systems molecularly unchanged. we do not metabolize them. They don't effect blood sugar. I now use stevia now in coffee,tea, which is a naturally sweet plant extract. It does not change my blood sugar.
If you eat things with manitol and sorbitol however they are alcohol based and they do ultimately get metabolized as sugars but it takes many hours. In small amounts (1-2 pieces, once or twice in a day) they have not effected my blood sugar. I would imagine that if you always had one in your mouth constantly it would raise bG. So like everything else - moderation is key.. I'm a T1D for 37yrs w/ no long term complications and good control

AlaskaRon

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Not Having Pizza!