Any type 2 runners

louch1

Hi I have been running for nearly 5 years and before I was diagnosed . Recently after a run(3-5km) I have felt really sick and today I nearly didn't make it home with an upset stomach . I take mediformin . I always make sure I eat 30 mins before I run and I always make sure I drink as well. I have been type 2 for 2 years . It's like starting the med's all over again.
Can anyone help it has baffled me
Thank you

walnut_face

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
No idea, I run most days (usually a treadmill between 5 and 8km) but once a week a Parkrun. I take metformin, but running doesnt boost its side effects for me. I tend to run first thing in the morning before I eat anything

Mrsass

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I'll tag @KevinPotts as he's type 2 and I'm sure he runs - sorry if you're not Kevin :)

Sent from my iPhone using DCUK Forum mobile app

KevinPotts

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Unkind people, failure to take personal responsibility.
I'll tag @KevinPotts as he's type 2 and I'm sure he runs - sorry if you're not Kevin :)

Sent from my iPhone using DCUK Forum mobile app

Hi louch1, I'm T2 and I run every morning first thing for a mile around my village green.

About 3 months ago whilst running on the gym
treadmill, I felt faint and sick and this happened several times so I went to see the doctor....

Guess what.... he did lots of tests and bloods and discovered over the space of a month that I was T2...that was nearly 9 weeks ago.

In addition to my T2 diag, he put me on an LCHF diet (20g carbs per day) for 12 weeks then review... that's the phase I'm currently in.