Broccoli...

My boyfriend is type 1, only had diabetes for 3 years (he is 25) and he does have struggle with his levels, but is getting better. He is part of the DAPHNE course so this is helping him out a bit. He can't cook etc... so am trying to help him out and maybe encourage him to eat some foods which he might benefit from!

So he mentioned Broccoli - Am I right in saying this is good to incorporate in a diabetics diet?
Again cinnamon? In what form?

I was thinking smoothie it all together!!
I know these things aren't guaranteed to help out, but I am sure he (and I) could do with some extra vitamins anyway!

Any suggestions?

(I know I have posted this in the expert forum, but thought I would post it in food too! I am new to this)

saz1

Broccoli is very good for you and your BF since it is a vegetable with minimal effect on blood sugars and it's full of vitamins and minerals too. I have never tried it in a smoothie but it makes a mean soup with a bit of cheese and a fantastic side dish for you main course.

It sounds like your boyfriend really needs to learn to cook too, in my mind it would make his and yours lives so much easier... It would help him understand and manage his condition so much better as well. But then I do understand young men and it's not that easy. He is very lucky to have you helping him out! :wink:

Thank you for your reply!

I know, he does need to learn to cook but as you said, being a young man (I am not talking for all men here) he can't be bothered!! He just needs a kick up the butt and he will be fine!!

Well I will try broccoli soup then - with his help!! :?
I have been looking into broccolli smoothies too! I'm sure he will love me!

saz1