Burning heel - scared

MushyPeaBrain

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I have recently started experiencing a burning sensation in one of my feet, on the heel. Is this neuropathy?

My diabetic clinic never properly checks my feet but I went to a chiropodist privately almost a year ago. I have an old verrucca which I discussed removing but he said it can cause more complications in diabetic feet and to leave it. The verruca is on this heel. He did a sensation test that showed only the tiniest bit of nerve damage on the end of my big toe on the other foot.

I have been diabetic 31 years with difficult to stabalise BG in the early years. I have been wearing an insulin pump for almost 2 years and my BG is the best it's ever been.

What should I do? Can they treat this?

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Needless to say I would get this investigated Mushy. Why don't they check your feet thoroughly at your diabetes check-up, if there isn't a Podiatrist in attendance at the clinic you can always make an appointment to see one through your gp practise.

MushyPeaBrain

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Noblehead they don't seem to concerned about checking feet and I normally have to mention it to get them looked at. The registrar then hits my feet with that metal thing and pokes them with a pin and it's done in a few minutes. Maybe that's all that's needed but it never feels looked at properly. That is all I have ever had.

The private check I had before took 30 mins and he tested sensation in all sorts of ways.

Should I have been seeing a Podiatrist then? Do you all see one?

jopar

Seeing a Podiatrist isn't necessary unless you feel you've might have a problem, have a problem or can't cut your toes nails...