Cappuccino addict

chattycathy28

Type of diabetes
Type 2
I am new to LCHF diet. My downfall is Cappuccino. I think I may be addicted! Not sure if the fat in the milk is OK. Any advice greatly received. Thank you. X:)

Reactions: Freema

Engineer88

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Its not the fat that is the issue but the sugar (lactose) are they home made? if so swopping to 'lactofree' milk would help a lot

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
swapping to double cream would work well too and make it even yummier..the fat is what the F in LCHF is. You need more of it not less if going very low carb.

Reactions: Prem51

Freema

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
as far as I am informed from my hospital the problem with lactofree milk is that it is not relly milk-carb-free but the lacto has been changed by some chemical reaction, but the milk sugar is in another form still in the milk.
so lacto-free milk still has the same amount of carbs

http://glutenfreeproducts.biz/what-is-lactose-free-milk/ ;
What is lactose free milk ?
Lactose free milk is a plant-based milk or a regular milk with added lactase enzyme. Lactose-free milk has a longer shelf life than regular milk and tastes sweeter than regular milk.
How is lactose free milk made?
Lactose free milk is maid by adding small amounts of the enzyme lactase to regular milk. The lactase breakes down lactose into its constituent components (glucose and galactose). This is a practice for many manufacturers that offers lactose free milk and products.
http://organicvalley.custhelp.com/a...-organic-valley-lactose-free-milk-and-organic

Last edited:

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
the problem with lactofree milk is that it is not relly lacto-free but the lacto has been changed by some chemical reaction, but the milk sugar is in another form still in the milk.
so lacto-free milk still has the same amount of carbs