Confused Again

pau1200

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi,

So I’m still learning what I can and can’t eat to control my blood sugar. After this mornings high reading I opted to skip breakfast and went straight to dinner. 3 hrs after dinner my reading was 7.5 which I thought wasn’t too bad.
For tea I had 2 boiled eggs and a handful of dry roasted peanuts.
3hrs after and my blood sugar was up to 9.7, I wasn’t expecting that so checked another finger and that read 10.4 so still confused I went back to the first finger and this time it read 11.9.
Really not sure what to make if it, hands where washed before hand so don’t think it’s contamination but starting to wonder if my meter is telling the truth

Guzzler

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Poor grammar, bullying and drunks.
There is a variance with all meters but what you are seeing is normal. Our blood cells don't march along like squaddies so take the average of your three readings and record that. BTW, peanuts (which are a legume not a true nut) arn't really the best of nuts to choose. Try almonds or walnuts or macadamias for a nut with lower carbs.

Reactions: DJC3

pau1200

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Would you expect a handful of peanuts to cause my blood sugar to jump that much

xfieldok

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I am OK with peanuts but no more than 30g per portion. Others can't eat them. It all depends upon your personal tolerances. You need to taste and test to find out what works for you.

pau1200

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I’ll cross the peanuts off the list then, that will be a miss

Reactions: 1spuds

pau1200

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I have sorted my meal plan for tomorrow out.

Breakfast : bacon and scrambled eggs
Lunch : mackerel salad
Dinner : piri piri chicken with cauliflower rice