Constant Low with Freestyle Libre

MoonDrop

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
So I’ve been using the 14 day Freestyle Libre for a few months, and just today I’ve run into a serious issue. The current one I’ve been using has been on for eight days and working fine, but just this morning I woke up to it giving me the lowest reading possible. I didn’t feel any symptoms of low blood sugar, so I did a fingerstick which read 4.9. I thought maybe I just slept funny and that prevented it from reading correctly, but now it’s been an entire day and it hasn’t returned to normal numbers. Every fingerstick test I’ve done has read above 4.0, so it’s a problem with the sensor. Can anyone offer a solution to this? If I have to, I can replace it, but my insurance doesn’t cover the sensors, so I’d rather figure out how to fix it.

Goonergal

Master
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
So I’ve been using the 14 day Freestyle Libre for a few months, and just today I’ve run into a serious issue. The current one I’ve been using has been on for eight days and working fine, but just this morning I woke up to it giving me the lowest reading possible. I didn’t feel any symptoms of low blood sugar, so I did a fingerstick which read 4.9. I thought maybe I just slept funny and that prevented it from reading correctly, but now it’s been an entire day and it hasn’t returned to normal numbers. Every fingerstick test I’ve done has read above 4.0, so it’s a problem with the sensor. Can anyone offer a solution to this? If I have to, I can replace it, but my insurance doesn’t cover the sensors, so I’d rather figure out how to fix it.