Denial of diagnosis...

h4kr

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I know this might sound weird. But I often think I’ve been misdiagnosed.
I know I’m new to this only being 2 months in.. but I get days when I think the doctors are wrong. Maybe it’s just denial?
If someone without T1 was to take insulin in the doses I do .. would it cause issues?
I take lantus (17 units pm) and fiasp 12+ units spread over meal times.
I just think that some days I have 2 units and still hypo after breakfast.
I’ve been moved to fiasp and half unit pen, so can get more control ( less hypos), but if my dose is so low.. maybe I’m not T1?
I didn’t take hardly any fast acting while skiing and could burn my breakfast spikes by skiing - this set the seed of doubt (dropped my lantus by 2 clicks when skiing too).

Am I in denial? Would 30+ units of insulin a day wreck someone that wasn’t T1?

Ambersilva

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
It happened to a lot of us when newly diagnosed. It's called the 'honeymoon period' when the pancreas starts producing insulin sporadically. It happened to my son too and went on for weeks where he came off insulin altogether. At the time we thought that maybe the initial diagnosis was wrong. But diabetes as he knows it now did return.

h4kr

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I have read about the honeymoon period and this is more than likely where I am...
It’s so disconcerting, to be told you need this to live and not be sure in your mind that you do.

Would be interested to know about my insulin and non t1 question tho.

rmz80

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
What were the circumstances of the diagnosis? Can you remember the names of any blood tests?

SueJB

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
cold weather