Does the apprehension pass?

res1492

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Im new to this and for some reason, i get really apprehensive taking my blood sugar...like REALLY apprehensive, to the point of thinking about not doing it at all in case it's high and i panic....please tell me this passes.

EDIT
ok from 16.8 at dinner today its gone down to 9.9, is it meant to drop that much ?...god its nerve racking

Last edited:

Colin Crowhurst

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I was DX in Dec 18, and whilst not happy about all the "Faff" I know I must do it. What I have found useful is the phone app with my meter so that I can see how I am trending and so far always good news! Try to find a positive to focus on and use that as your "carrot" to entice yourself!

Reactions: jjraak

xfieldok

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Calm down and relax, I know, easy for me to say. First of all, some people will become obsessed with readings. I was!
The trick is to treat it as a puzzle. Why are your numbers so high? Keep a record of your numbers as well as the food you ear. You will eventually spot what foods are making you spike with the high numbers.

If you are a full blown diabetic, you are in for the long haul. You will learn to manage your blood glucose levels with what you eat and any medications. We are here to support and encourage you. We have all been where you are now.

So sit down, have a cuppa (no biscuit), read around the forum and the sucess stories. You seem to be on the start of your journey. Take it easy, Rome wasn't built in a day. It is a lot to get your head round. Don't try to do it all at once. I was bewildered at first, but eventually the penny drops.

Ask lots of quesitons.

Reactions: Flora123

Dj29067

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)