DUPUYTREN DISEASE?

gfgeoff

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi all just wondered if anyone else has been diagnosed with Dupuytren Disease which is strongly linked to Diabetes?
I started with a small bump in the palm of my hand approx 2 years ago and now have the bumps under each knuckle in both hands......no contracture yet but very worried as im a musician for a living and this may have an effect in the future.
Have tried all sorts of creams and gels which have not worked but just wondered if anyone has this condition and how they are coping with it ?

A full explanation can be found here

https://dupuytrens.org/three-types-of-dupuytren-disease/

Cheers Geoff

kitedoc

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
black jelly beans
Hi @gfgeoff, Welcome and I can imagine that you are quite concerned about this condition given your profession!!
First of all, this below is from my reading and experience as a T1D, not as professional advice or opinion:
I gather they have traced the genetics for the tendency to this condition back to the Vikings, and nothing to do with rowing with oars either !!
As a result of diabetes I have something similar but not exactly the same, called trigger fingers where one or more tendons in the palm of the hands swells up. The tendons are like smooth ropes which move when the muscles up in the forearm contract. To work properly these smooth ropes run through tissue loops in place of pulleys. When the swelling in my tendon moves it get stuck in the pulley then suddenly slip through causing my finger to suddenly move or trigger. Then it is difficult to get the finger unbent as the swelling gets stuck on the other side of the pulley and sometime has to be pulled back through with a great deal of pain in the process.
But also I have the start of some bending in one finger as the tendon will not allow it to go completely straight. This is more like the description of Dupuytren's as I read it.