Approved Enhancing Emotional Experiences: A Journey Towards More Empathetic Diabetes-related Websites

Zijie Xie

Type of diabetes
Researcher
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Hello everyone,

I am thrilled to join this fantastic community on Diabetes.co.uk. My name is Zijie Xie, and I am a doctoral researcher at Loughborough University. Before I delve into the specifics of my work, I would like to express my sincere thanks to Diabetes.co.uk. Their support towards my research, in addition to their continuous endeavours to foster a nurturing space for those living with diabetes, is genuinely commendable.

My academic journey led me to investigate emotional experiences of interacting with diabetes-related websites. Our research primarily focuses on how the design and content of these websites can better cater to the emotional needs of individuals with diabetes. By understanding your experiences and needs, we can design better, more empathetic platforms that enhance your journey of understanding, managing, and living with diabetes.

But this research cannot succeed without your valuable contributions. It is your experiences, stories, and interactions that form the backbone of my research. So, I am here not just to share my work, but to listen, learn, and understand your perspective. I am eager to hear about your experiences - both positive and negative - with diabetes-related websites. How do these sites make you feel? What features do you find helpful or bothersome? What are your ideas for improvement?

Together, we can shape digital platforms to better support our emotional wellbeing, making the online journey of living with diabetes more positive, more informative, and less daunting.