exercise and rapid BG drops

sailorj

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I've been walking on the fells for the last 15 years, not a huge amount compared to many but enjoy a days walk on the lower cumbrian fell walks most weekends. In the last 2 months when out I have been having problems with rapid Bg drops. My norm is 5-6 am and before meals and 6-7.5 +2 after most meals.

The first time was scary, having had a snack (nuts and raisins) after 1 hour of mostly up hill walking (BG dropped from 8.2 +1 after breakfast to 4.8). An hour later (contouring the hill) we stopped for lunch (BG 5.6) included more carbs than usual - a small banana. One hour later & going up again, I was stumbling, finding it hard to focus, nauseaus and finding it hard to focus on where I was going, BG was 4.2. At this point it was a 2 hour walk to the car or nearest cafe/help. We stopped and I had some chocolate (we were running out of carbs now!) and it took me 3+ hours to get to the car as I struggled to walk at anything other than a really slow faltering pace and had hourly nuts, raisins or ceral bars as the BG was constanly 4.2-5.0. Back at the car hubby was hungry as I'd had his rations! :lol: I slept for 3 hours and the BG was below 6.0 all evening even at dinner +2.

I have had other similar occasions and so far have been OK but now check the BGs hourly on longer and harder walks. :? I've tried varying the amount of breakfast carbs and ruled out time of day, length of activity in distance and time taken, weather and temperature, amount of water drunk, I've tried eating stuff other than carbs but then tend to be worse and I have no other health problems. I am diet controlled and hbla's 5.6 in feb.

Ok so I know exercise can drop BG's but Exercise is good for me and I enjoy it. :D