1. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2021 »
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Guest, stay home, stay safe, save the NHS. Stay up to date with information about keeping yourself and people around you safe here and GOV.UK: Coronavirus (COVID-19). Think you have symptoms? NHS 111 service is available here.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Fasting Questions

Discussion in 'Type 2 Diabetes' started by srobertson06, May 2, 2017.

1. srobertson06

srobertson06 Type 2 · Well-Known Member

Hi everyone,

I am new to the fasting option so I have a few questions - I did not feel too good over the weekend so I went without breakfast - I did eat lunchtime and I then took my morning medication then.

So this morning I decided to test and do the same - so overnight I was 7.2 - after an hour I was 7.5 then just prior to eating lunch 6.0.

So my questions - my fast was around about 15 hours - is this good to start with - hospital said no more than 12 hours but that was with regards to a fasting blood test. I know other's on the site fast for a lot longer - but as someone starting out how long should you go, I was hungry by lunchtime. Will fasting mess up my usual readings? I have my hospital fasting blood tests next week - should I avoid fasting until after this?

Any information would be really useful.

2. Bluetit1802

Bluetit1802 Type 2 (in remission!) · Legend

Did you have anything at all between getting up and lunch time? Drinks?