Type 2 Food good / bad for kidney damage

pensionistamike

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi all,
Can anyone give me a clue please as to what foods / drinks Etc. are OK or not Ok
when the kidneys are still functioning but at only 40%........any advice would be
gratefully appreciated......thanksalot.........

Reactions: Freema

Freema

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
to that you need a doctor that can give expert advice ...

I am not an Expert

Water I think would be okay to drink in normal amounts ...

you´ll have to ask them how much protein you are allowed to eat at a time / daily as proteins can be hard on kidneys ...when functioning optimally
maybe there is a lot more you have to avoid.. like alcohol ....

AndBreathe

Master
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi all,
Can anyone give me a clue please as to what foods / drinks Etc. are OK or not Ok
when the kidneys are still functioning but at only 40%........any advice would be
gratefully appreciated......thanksalot.........

Pensionistamike, I don't have any personal experience to offer you myself, but @CollieBoy had impaired kidney function for a while, if I recall correctly. He won't be able to be specific to your needs, but he can tell you how he coped with things.

pensionistamike

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Thank you for your replies and advice........its amazing but the day after my cry for help
I was notified that my appointment for a contrast scan on the kidneys was now cancelled
deemed to be too big a risk and I will be having an ultrasound scan instead.........hopefully
I will be told the does and donts after that.
At present I drink about 2 litres of water a day and the only time I have any alcohol is on
Quiz Night........highlight of the week......sad but true.....thanks again........

Kristin251

Expert
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin