Freestyle Libre - anywhere other than arm?

Cofty

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi all. I've used Freestyle Libre a few times - I love it - but I find it often comes off from my arm, even when using tape to help keep it on. If I catch my arm on a door, for example, it can come off.

I follow the instructions to the letter when 'infusing' it, but wondered if anyone has tried using it elsewhere (e.g. stomach, leg, backside) and found that's maintained accurate (ish!) readings / results? I've herd the stomach can work.

Thanks
Cofty

Reactions: LizzieNI
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I haven't tried other than on the arm but there was a poster the other day who said she wore it on her bum and it was ok.

Cofty

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Yeah someone mentioned to me that they'd worn it on their stomach, I just wanted to hear if others had tried other places and if it had panned out OK in terms of readings.

Yorkey

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi ! I am a newbie to the forum but go on every day and find it an excellent source of knowledge ! I too use the libra system and have had problems with doors knocking mine off aswell !!! I know use a 5 inch length of tubular bandage (basically a small sleeve) which I put over the sensor.... this has diverted any "scrapes" I have had and not had any issues since ! Hope this us helpful

Reactions: LizzieNI and porl69

Cofty

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Yes it is - thanks. I've used medical tape, its been great but even then I sometimes have problems. I play a lot of squash and a larger sleeve might be a little restrictive in the racket swing.
Hoping it can work on the stomach - if anyone else has experiences there?

barrym

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Some guy posted a pic last week of it fixed to the front of his arm.

tubamanandy