1. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2021 »
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Guest, stay home, stay safe, save the NHS. Stay up to date with information about keeping yourself and people around you safe here and GOV.UK: Coronavirus (COVID-19). Think you have symptoms? NHS 111 service is available here.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Freestyle libre compatible phones

Discussion in 'Diabetes Discussions' started by chrisbug, Nov 4, 2020.

  1. UK T1

    UK T1 Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    103
    No need to justify! I've been very happy with the Libre 2 communicating directly to the Diabox app which updates every minute and has made it feel like a CGM for me (better alarm options than the official libre link app too). Only use the official app so my data syncs with libre view for my clinic as I get it on prescription too. Never wanted more bulk on the sensor so was very happy to find how well libre 2 worked with diabox without needing a MM or bubble attached. Enjoy when it arrives!
     
  2. empire.line

    empire.line Type 1 · Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Hello! So just a quick (ish) update on the Libre 2 app + mobile phone situation... I ordered a Samsung A21s and we have been able to download the LibreView app onto it. For those who are interested we bought it from Samsung's website directly, it was the best price, £30 cheaper than in Argos.... Anyway, I digress. When the phone arrived I was already using a Libre sensor with the handset, so had to wait till putting on a new Libre sensor before I could use the App on the phone. I put on a new sensor today and have successfully scanned it using the app on the phone. I have to say that this phone is MASSIVE and a bit unwieldy for my small lady-like paws... but will struggle on! (what a great example of a first world problem...). Using the mobile with the sensor means that the handset can't be used at all. I now need to look at the alarms to check that these are all set up working on the phone app....
    At the same time I'm still using Dexcom G6 as have 3 months worth of sensors left, so this is a good opportunity to compare Libre2 and Dexcom G6. I can tell you straight away that their readings are different most of the time...
    Here's the punchline though - Dexcom G6 app doesn't work with the new Samsung A21s phone!! Agh! So I have to keep the old Samsung Galaxy S7 running as well.... meaning that basically for the next 3 months I'm carrying around 2 mobile phones.
    To make things a bit simpler I've managed to download DexcomFollow app to the new phone and share Dexcom readings from the old phone to the new one. I can't calibrate it or anything, but at least I can see the BG on just one phone.
    Next steps are to test out MaioMaio to try to turn the Libre2 into a CGM as a much cheaper replacement for the Dexcom G6, so I'll let you know how that goes. Also we'll be testing out how to get the data to display onto my Smart Watch. I have a ticwatch, if anyone's got any hot tips for how to do this, or using MaioMaio, or anything else Libre & CGM related, they'd be very much appreciated!
    Thanks and best wishes :)
    EL
     
    • Winner Winner x 1
  3. empire.line

    empire.line Type 1 · Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Thanks will defo check out the Diabox app!! I meant to include that in my post below... Will do this before buying MM. Cheers!! EL
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Antje77

    Antje77 LADA · Moderator
    Staff Member

    Messages:
    11,561
    Likes Received:
    7,467
    Trophy Points:
    298
    You had to pay for the official apps to use Libre?
     
  5. empire.line

    empire.line Type 1 · Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Kind of, I had a buy a new phone to be able to get LibreView app...
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. empire.line

    empire.line Type 1 · Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    23
    *I had TO buy a new phone...
     
  7. Noddy123

    Noddy123 Type 1 · Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Every time I put on a new sensor which is usually a Thurs night by Sunday the sensor gives me hypo readings. So I do a finger prick test and I'm not in a hypo. Libre 1 sensors. So I thought I would install the app this weekend. Unable to as get error message phone not compatible. I previously had a HTC, app installed fine. Changed phone last aug to Motorola. I'm not changing my phone to a Samsung or iPhone just to comply with Abbott.
     
  8. JohnEGreen

    JohnEGreen Other · Master

    Messages:
    11,730
    Likes Received:
    22,870
    Trophy Points:
    298
    I have never got it to work on any of my Android phones now have an I phone and it works perfectly Abbott should sort this out.
    I think it maybe cheaper just to buy the new reader than a new phone.

    When on Abbott's site the other day there was mention of an offer when switching to Libre2 from Libre one they where offering a new reader free of charge but when I tried to take advantage of this offer it put the reader in the basket at zero pounds but then when I tried to checkout it told me I had already redeemed this offer which I hadn't as I did not even know of it's existence till that day I have emailed them asking about it so far had no reply.. .
     
  9. Antje77

    Antje77 LADA · Moderator
    Staff Member

    Messages:
    11,561
    Likes Received:
    7,467
    Trophy Points:
    298
    Try giving them a phonecall, they're usually a lot better on the phone than through mail.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  10. Mr_Pot

    Mr_Pot Type 2 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,484
    Likes Received:
    2,040
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Maybe DCUK could start a list of phones that people know work from their experience. It would need to include make, model and operating system version. Expecting Abbott to do it is asking a lot. I don't know how many types of Android phone there are now but I saw a figure of 24,000 for 2015 so it would be much higher.
     
  11. Antje77

    Antje77 LADA · Moderator
    Staff Member

    Messages:
    11,561
    Likes Received:
    7,467
    Trophy Points:
    298
    You could start a thread on it and have people add their phones. Sounds rather useful. :)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. Mr_Pot

    Mr_Pot Type 2 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,484
    Likes Received:
    2,040
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Done.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. Noddy123

    Noddy123 Type 1 · Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Yes I sent them an email too had no response. You shouldn't have to ring all the time then to be held in a queue especially when you are working during the day. Abbot need to improve their customer service
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  14. alanboo

    alanboo Type 2 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I use Blucon which is compatible with Fresstyle sensors except libre2 (US and Canadian Version). Blucon is compatible with Phones which have operating systems 13 and above.
     
  15. Ushthetaff

    Ushthetaff Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    348
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Upgraded to to the IPhone 12 works fine
     
  16. SueJB

    SueJB Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    4,027
    Trophy Points:
    198
  17. Mr_Pot

    Mr_Pot Type 2 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,484
    Likes Received:
    2,040
    Trophy Points:
    178
    The table only shows phones Abbott have tested. Thousands of new phones come out every year so they can't test them all. If it is a fairly new phone, has NFC and Bluetooth then it is likely to work.

    Edit to add that the Samsung A20e does have NFC and Bluetooth.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    #57 Mr_Pot, Aug 12, 2021 at 9:08 AM
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2021
  18. alanboo

    alanboo Type 2 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I am using blucon nightrider with freestyle libre. I get readings updates in every 5 minutes with alarms for high and low sugars. i dont need a NFC enabled phone seperately. Blucon is a NFC to BLE devices. It works with all freestyle sensors except libre2 (US & Canada)
     
  • Meet the Community

    Find support, connect with others, ask questions and share your experiences with people with diabetes, their carers and family.

    Did you know: 7 out of 10 people improve their understanding of diabetes within 6 months of being a Diabetes Forum member. Get the Diabetes Forum App and stay connected on iOS and Android

    Grab the app!
  • Tweet with us

  • Like us on Facebook