FreeStyle Libre sensor startup

Flakey Bake

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi. I am quite new to freestyle libre. I have used one sensor so far and knocked it off at day 11, other than loosing it on day 11, the libre has been fabulous. I applied a new sensor today and it will not activate. I am on my third attempt at starting up this new sensor. It was applied correctly, to a clean dry area on the back of my arm and appears to be well stuck. Has anyone had this problem. I relunctant to give up on it without a fight and at £50 a pop, I honestly can't afford to. Has anyone had this problem and do you know if Abbott will replace sensors that don't even start?
Many thanks

1abRat

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
If you've followed all the steps then give Abbott a call as it sounds faulty and will probably be replaced.

Flakey Bake

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
If you've followed all the steps then give Abbott a call as it sounds faulty and will probably be replaced.
Thanks labrat. I have contacted Abbott with all the information and I am hopeful that they will replace it. It is just frustrating because I have become quite dependent on the libre and I am going to be travelling for a stressful work conference this next few days and was hoping to have the added reassurance of my libre to help cope with the massive swings in BG that travel, stress and non-home cooked food produces. I won't have time to get a new sensor before I go :-(
I guess I will just have to stab my fingers a great deal :-(

1abRat

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Yes it's quite disconcerting when you're unexpectedly separated from your Libre isn't it?

I always find I end up doing a ton of blood tests at first! Good luck with the conference and hope your replacement comes soon!

Reactions: 2 people

Robbity

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only