Fruit teas

chrestomanci

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Hunger
Just a quick query, are fruit teas generally ok on low carb? I've been drinking Twinings and tea pig ones.

It may seem like a daft question, but I'm very new to this way of eating, having done low fat high carb all my life and struggled with my metabolism since my twenties. I nearly had a heart attack when I saw how many carbs are in my, what I thought healthy, red rice!

D

Deleted Account

Fruit tea is low carb (0.3% carb) but there is more than just carbs that may affect BG (e.g. some people find caffeine ... which is not in fruit tea ... affects some people's BG).
The best way to tell how foodstuff or drinks affect you is to test before and afterwards.

I drink fruit, herbal, roibbos and black tea without milk and they have no impact on my BG.

chrestomanci

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Hunger
Fruit tea is low carb (0.3% carb) but there is more than just carbs that may affect BG (e.g. some people find caffeine ... which is not in fruit tea ... affects some people's BG).
The best way to tell how foodstuff or drinks affect you is to test before and afterwards.

I drink fruit, herbal, roibbos and black tea without milk and they have no impact on my BG.
Thank you so much, that's so helpful :)

WuTwo

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
People whose attitude says "Me, my opinion, my desire is greater and more important than anyone else"

And to whom the principle of ahimsa is a closed book that they refuse to open because it would make life more difficult for them.
Yep - I go for rooibos, fruit & herbal teas, and occasionally white and green tea. No milk, no sugar. No effect on carbs. Just as well - I get through about 10 mugs of rooibos a day :rolleyes:

Serena51

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
bigots, racists, homophobes