Gliclazide and alcohol

Rie26

Type of diabetes
MODY
So it's my friends 30th tonight and we are off to Frankie and benny's for a meal. There will also be alcohol too and I'm worried sick. I don't want to be a party pooper but I don't want to have a hypo too as heard this can happen if you drink too much with gliclazide. This is my first time going out for a meal on this tablet. I know the little voice in my head is saying just have one or two drinks....but I know what I'm like lol. Any advice? Anyone else on gliclazide? Thanks in advance :)

jay hay-char

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I don't know much about Gliclazide, I'm afraid, though I expect someone will be along in a bit, who does.

When you drink alcohol, your liver concentrates on processing alcohol, rather than dumping sugar, which means that your b/s can go down (sorry if I'm mansplaining, by the way :)). Given that gliclazide also lowers your b/s, I guess it could produce a Double Whammy effect and lead to a hypo. All I can suggest is that you keep an eye on things and maybe measure your b/s at regular intervals throughout the evening and have something edible to hand, in case you need a boost - but then be careful you don't over do it the other way.

Have you had hypos at all? Presumably if you have, then you'll be familiar with the warning signs and maybe you could get a friend to keep an eye on you as well. I'm T2, and control things by diet and exercise. I don't have hypos but I am told that, if I don't eat properly, I start getting quite stressed; I don't notice it myself but my family do, and order me to eat, so try and recruit an observer to tip you the wink.

Notwithstanding all this, I hope you have a great evening with your friend.

Reactions: Rie26

HICHAM_T2

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Nothing
Hi

First you are diabetic and you should quit alcohol

Gliclazaide(Diamicron) Presses the pancreas to produce more insulin

Lally123

Type of diabetes