1. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2020 »
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Guest, stay home, stay safe, save the NHS. Stay up to date with information about keeping yourself and people around you safe here and GOV.UK: Coronavirus (COVID-19). Think you have symptoms? NHS 111 service is available here.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

GlucoRX Nexus or Contour Next One

Discussion in 'Blood Glucose Monitoring' started by StevenE20, Apr 27, 2020.

  1. StevenE20

    StevenE20 · Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi Guys

    I posted last week regarding the difference in results from the GlucoRX and Codefree

    I have been using the Nexus and all fine I had a Contour Next One turn up for free over the weekend.

    Question is what one would people recommend sticking to.

    I see the contour is a bit more expensive on strips but also read it has a better accuracy rating.

    Thanks
     
  2. searley

    searley Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    103
    I would stick to the contour is an All round better meter but strips cost more.. and unless there is a good reason it not on the list that gp’s like to prescribe either

    I’ve had many meters over the years and the contour is one of the best.. it also has 2 chance sampling if you don’t get enough blood on first time

    Is also small and way to transport

    It will work with either the contour next app or mysugr
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    #2 searley, Apr 27, 2020 at 4:58 PM
    Last edited: May 30, 2020
  3. StevenE20

    StevenE20 · Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi

    Thanks for that I use the mysugr app anyways so I will get more strips for the contour and use that
     
  4. aspot

    aspot · Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Great news. I am using mysugr with AccuChek Mobile but got Contour Next One. I was using this Contour in the past and was happy with it. Then AccuChek Mobile came in with Bluetooth and that was a big deal for me as don't like to fil the booklet. However the AccuChek Mobile is not the best. Glad that Contour is back with new meter. Starting it from 01.06.
     
  5. aspot

    aspot · Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Well the Mysugr is not working with Contour Next One. It only seems to work with AccuChek Mobile. Can you please share how you managed contour to work with Mysugr?
     
  6. searley

    searley Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    103
    I just goto connections and select contour next one

    IMG_0269.jpg
     
  7. aspot

    aspot · Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Hmm strange. My phones (iPhone 7 & Samsung S10) only detects accu-check mobile. I was thinking that deleting Mobile and then try pair with Contour but I am afraid to lose my data.
     
  8. searley

    searley Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Data is stored on the mysugr server.... it may just be the contour is not supported in your country..

    You can however install the contour app have it save results to Apple health then allow mysugr access to Apple health. And it will get the glucose level from Apple health
     
  9. aspot

    aspot · Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Yeah that’s why I’m not able to connect Contour. It’s country dependent. My nephew is working in MySugr and I had a chat with him about my issue. UK support about 12 readers. Germany only 2!!! Anyway I’m sticking with accu-check for now. It’s the most convenient despite it shows higher readings than other 2. Btw can I pm you? Have some questions.
     
  10. searley

    searley Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    103
    You can pm...
     
  11. CelalDari

    CelalDari · Guest

    I don’t really know about GlucoRX Nexus so I can’t judge but I had a GlucoMen areo 2k and it was pretty rubbish.

    It supposedly had NFC but never worked a single time. I ordered the Contour Next One and to my amazement it was much better. It is one of the most accurate BG meters out there from what I’ve heard and experienced. It also has Bluetooth, why is this useful you may ask? It can store your BG readings and you can upload your BG readings from Contour Next One to your diasend (if you have one) using the Bluetooth. You can then basically share your BG readings with your diabetes team remotely and diasend will show your daily patterns similar to what the Libre shows.

    It’s always good for your diabetes team to have a bit of data on you otherwise the meetings are going to be pretty dry and they won’t be able to help you if they don’t know your BG patterns.
     
  12. aspot

    aspot · Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    23
    In my opinion and experience Freestyle optium neo is the best and most advanced, but lack of Bluetooth/NFC and app is a big disadvantage novadays. And yes, the Contour Next One is the best.
     
  13. xenomorph2020

    xenomorph2020 · Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    hmm in the UK only meter you can connect to the mysugr app is accu check!
    annoying as im on contor next link
     
  14. searley

    searley Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    103
    I’m in the U.K. and can connect..

    IMG_0418.jpg
     
  15. xenomorph2020

    xenomorph2020 · Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    im on android and it does not show up
    :(
     
  16. searley

    searley Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Not correct I also have android and use my meter with that
     
  • Meet the Community

    Find support, connect with others, ask questions and share your experiences with people with diabetes, their carers and family.

    Did you know: 7 out of 10 people improve their understanding of diabetes within 6 months of being a Diabetes Forum member. Get the Diabetes Forum App and stay connected on iOS and Android

    Grab the app!
  • Tweet with us

  • Like us on Facebook