Got the Freestyle Libre today!

TIGERLILY1991

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
So I am feeling incredibly lucky. Today I got the FreeStyle Libre! I was told I wasnt eligible due to being recently diagnosed. However my return to work risk assessment dictated that I have to test my blood sugar every 2 hours at a minimum.

My fingers were getting so sore due to the amount of times I was testing per day. My DSN decided that she thought the Libre would suit my circumstances and enable me to return to 'normal' at work.

So because my appointment to be shown how to fit/ work it was last minute, I do have some questions:

- What is best to secure the libre during activity? As a Prison Officer, I sometimes get into scuffles. I also have horses who unintentionally knock things so I want something to cover the sensor!

- Does it only read when you scan it or does it monitor continuously?

- When it comes to changing the sensor, how do I remove it? Do I just pull it off?

Thank you guys! My fingers are already appreciating the reprieve. I'm now only finger pricking when I take insulin and before I drive for a reasonable amount of time (more than 20 mins).

Any other tips would be gratefully received

Jxx

Walking Girl

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I use the Simpatch, the one without the hole. I have to change it every 5-6 days though and I will say that it’s pretty impossible to do without assistance.

It takes a reading every minute, then averages 15 readings into one data point. It only downloads the data when you scan it, however. You have to scan at least every 8 hours, so keep that in mind overnight. I.e., if you sleep 9 hours, you will have a 1 hour gap at the beginning of the night.