Hba1c results

Ica291

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi all,

I've been using a libre for a few years now and the estimated hba1c is always within 1 or 2 of the actual result.

I changed to a new GP 6 months ago, because my old surgery was a nightmare. I'm really happy with my new doc and standard of care at the practice. However, since using the practice, the hba1c results have been different to libre by 5-7(higher than expected). Which is quite big. My DSN said not to worry about the number and I'm doing great. But, my question is this:

Has anyone else had hba1c results that they just don't believe are true? Something happened to the sample in transit, storage or maybe even sampling technique error?

I don't want to start accusing my practice of anything, but my levels are not indicative of the hba1c result. Here's an example: libre was estimating 52, result came at 57. I didn't believe this and had it tested a month later in the hospital and it was 53..... To my understanding, it doesn't go up and down that quickly in a month unless you have had some really bad weeks!

The phlebotomist at the practice did say to me once that because they are so far from the hospital sometimes they get higher results. My DSN spoke to a lab technician who said bloods are good for 48 hours at room temperature.....

Any thoughts??

Guzzler

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Poor grammar, bullying and drunks.
Different labs?

ETA

I seem to remember one member getting an anomolous result and the GP was so intrigued that she ordered another blood draw. Samples were sent to two different labs (samples from the same blood draw) resulting in such a wide variance that it made no sense. As far as I remember there was a six point difference. Sorry, can't remember which member reported this.

Last edited:

Listlad

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only