Hello Everyone - (Another Newbee)

Lishay02

Good afternoon,

My name is Lisa, I am 33 years old and I believe I am type 2 Diabetic. I lost my Mum December 2007 - (My Mum was insulin dependant via injection) and last year I started feeling so ill, going to the loo alot, tired all the time, drinking loads, having no energy etc etc. Visited the Doc after a 2 wk hol in Greece of lying around doing absolutely nothing to find my blood pressure high, eventually sent me for blood tests, sugar result of 22, a fasting one done of 18.

I then was prescribed Metformin tablets by my Doctor, but he has now changed them to Metformin 500mg Slow Release Tablets, I take 4 a day.

I have never done any exercise before, and are seriously overweight, my Mum and other members of my family are/were Diabetic. So I decided to try and help myself and joined a gym. I have lost 1 stone and 7 pounds so far, but over xmas and with moving house this has lapsed :-( now getting back on track. My family say they can see abig difference in me already. Doc happy with my weight loss, etc, but what to eat ? Trying to be healthy. My levels came back that over the last few months my sugar was 10. Doc wants it to 7, and in my first check up (3 months) I have got it down to 8.5 already - is this good ? Am I on the right track ? Doc says when I go again, if it hasnt changed much, he will put me on another tablet to take as well ?