Hello! Type 1 clueless newbie here. All advice welcome!!

SamBz85

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi everyone. My name is Sam. I’m a 38 year old female who was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes in December 2023. I currently work full time, self employed and have 2 kids, my daughter is 15, my son is 11.

I didn’t have any symptoms at all really. I was feeling really tired and assumed my iron levels were low as they usually are. I was shocked to learn my blood sugar was 33! To be honest, I had no idea what these numbers meant as no one in my family has diabetes and I didn’t really know much about it. My diabetes nurse was pretty sure I was type2. She even went as far as saying - “You’re a type 2 Sam! I would go as far as to bet my house on it. All the symptoms point in that direction” Good job she didn’t bet her house!!

So fast forward 2 months and I’m just winging every day and have no idea what I’m doing really! Still doesn’t feel real if I’m honest.

I’m taking metformin as well as using novorapid and toujeo. I’m booked on a carb counting course in April.

My blood glucose levels are now fairly stable and I do feel so much better in myself than I did before Xmas.

Pre diabetic me was reckless with food and drink especially chocolate and wine!! My diagnosis has made me think twice about what I eat and when I eat it!!

Any advice, help, tips and tricks are very welcome! Looking forward to making diabetes buddies and sharing info!! Thank you all in advance xxx

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi @SamBz85 , welcome to diabetes and to the forum.

Most of us T1's who are diagnosed over 35 are misdiagnosed to start with, glad this was rectified quickly for you!
So fast forward 2 months and I’m just winging every day and have no idea what I’m doing really! Still doesn’t feel real if I’m honest.

I’m taking metformin as well as using novorapid and toujeo. I’m booked on a carb counting course in April.